Can you help me understand the 'Titan'?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can you help me understand the 'Titan'?

I am completely new to UT3.. I only bought it because it was cheap and I new the Titan pack was coming and was curious.

I managed to get a few TDM games in over the past few days (before the Titan Pack was released in the UK), and they were normal.. Just like any other TDM game. But last night, I played two games and in both of them people changed into a BIG charactor who I assume is the Titan.. In the 2nd game, people were also controlling 3 legged tripod machines.... Since I hadn't seen this before, I assumed that this was the 'Titan' mode.. But the curious thing was that at this point I hadn't downloaded the 'Titan Pack'.. So how was I able to play these games when I didn't even have the Titan pack installed?

Anyhow.. After reading up on the Titan pack, I can see that the Titan feature can be used in any game mode, so clearly this is what I was playing.. But i have a bunch of questions.

1. Can you really play the Titan (And the bigger Tripods) on ALL maps? Surely some are too small to support this? Some of the corridors I have seen in some levels are surely too low for a Titan to even fit???

2. Is it possible to play a game which doesn't have the Titan 'feature'.. Just an old fashioned classic TDM?

3. If so, how can you tell if a game you are going to join is going to use the 'Titan' feature?

If anyone could answer this, I would be hugely grateful as frankly I am lost right now and I have more questions than answers...

Thanks in advance

Jon

greetings.. erm a quick attempt to answer.. Titans can be used in any mode (pretty much except instagib games i think), but the tripod you speak of must be the "Darkwalker" a vehicle &as such cannot be used everywhere.. however the Titan transformation has a second phase called Behemoth.. almost as big as the Darkwalker and incredibly powerful..