so whats the deal with the art?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

so whats the deal with the art?

so im a level artist/designer.. and ive been noticing some things about other mappers posting their levels for feedback.. and my question to anyone who can answer is..
    "why is it that when someone posts a level, no one gives any feedback on the gameplay and level flow of a map unless the map has artwork in it??"

that doesnt make much sense to me. ive been playing games for years ever since wolf3d... and yeah i will agree that artwork is usually what draws interest into a map.. we are visual creatures... but from my experience, once a player is used to the visuals, beyond thats its strictly about how fun the level plays.. what keeps a player coming back?? how fun it is.. not how cool it looks.. ... but if someone posts a level for critique on gameplay only, they are left with no feedback.... anyone? just curious..

I totally feel you, man, but just give it some time. People will come across it and give their feedback, eventually. I will download this and try it out when I get home or at school kk? :3

Comment

gameplay > looks

first make sure the map has uber gameplay, than try to make it look nice ;p

Comment

Generally the gameplay and flow is done in the early stages of alpha, I only make my maps Beta (and post on the forums) when they're ready to be presented to the public, so screenshots are kinda expected at that stage. I test my alpha maps quite a bit during development, and have a team of friends who help me with this, offering suggestions, finding bugs etc. The Public Beta releases, for me, are purely there to make sure everything works as well as it should for the general public and on servers. I then spend a couple of weeks polishing the visuals and optimising, and then make the final release.

Comment