pc version of ut3 on a ps3, something to concider

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

pc version of ut3 on a ps3, something to concider

As some people may know, ps3 can run Linux. Many people may have read that ut3 will have some Linux client in the fAQ section. Being one of those people that knows both, I was wondering If anyone was considering trying to run the Linux version of ut3 on their ps3 when it comes out. I am no expert, but I would expect there would be some sort of problem doing this, otherwise things would be too easy. Probably some graphics and other driver problems. If this idea totally fails, or there is something I am not taking into consideration and I sound like a moron, I hope I at least inform someone that their ps3 can run Linux, and they have fun messing around with it. I only have a pc.

As far as I know, the graphics ability of the PS3 is disabled on purpose when running linux, so this idea won't fly.

Comment

Why on earth would anyone want to run the pc version of ut3 on a ps3 when the ps3 version has been specially optiomized to run better on the ps3!? doesnt make no sense.
      Of course it wont work, and its totally pointless too.

Comment

Originally posted by recoiledsnake View Post
        As far as I know, the graphics ability of the PS3 is disabled on purpose when running linux, so this idea won't fly.
        No RSX access, hopefully someone will hack it one day.

Comment

The big thing behind that would be to play pc users on your your ps3.

Comment

As Adz said, no way this would work. the ps3 version must be specifically trimmed down to fit the console limitations. even if they unlocked rsx, linux would take too many resources and even if linux was transparent the pc version requires 512 mb of ram and ps3 only has 256mb.

Comment

Even if it were possible, the hardware is ****, so performance is **** and you would have like 5 FPS maybe.

Comment

Originally posted by oldkawman1 View Post