Gfx card question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gfx card question

I know the tech specs havnt been released yet. Im looking to upgrade my gfx card. Im currently running an ati x600, which is very weak.

Im looking at the Geforce 8500 Gt and 8600 Gts but iv read some reviews which also put these cards down as poor. Would i be better getting the ATI x1950 or one of the 8000 series cards (disregarding 8800 due to price) Or have you got any other suggestions for a pritty decent gfx card (bearing in mind im a student and the most i can really afford is £110)

Thanks for your time.

Willmagic

x1950 pro sounds like the best. some advice always try and buy a highend or previously highend card. they are always better then the budget cards from the newest line of cards. so if i were you i would search for a good online shop that ships a x1900 kind of ati or a 7900 (atleast gt) kind of card from nvidia.

Comment

GeForce 8500 isn't weak, but it's not going to run UT3 at highest settings, even in a very beefy PC. So get something "600" series or better. Preferably "800" or "900" to ensure you'll be able to run at max settings. That _is_ outside your budget, however.

My recommendation is for you to save up, my friend.

Comment

Thanks guys, ill take that on board, iv been shopping around and iv found a x1950 pro for about £80 so ill probably buy that. Im not really looking to play ut3 at max, i just want to be able to play it.

@ Ultron, do you know how the x1950 compares to the 8500? im really just looking for best i can get for my money.

Thanks guys

Comment

http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/09/...for_the_money/

that one should help you somewhat.

Comment

afaik the 8800 is the way to go - 320MB version if youre on 1024x768 and below, and the 640MB version if you're above that. Save up for this if you can.