Shock horror

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shock horror

Reducing the shock primary rate will leave footsoldiers much more exposed. At the moment, I'll admit that they are way overpowered and makes the wonderful cicada incredibly difficult to use, and it'll take out most vehichles easily.

But it's the same kickback from the shock that prevents those without vehicles, especially when building a node from being over exposed and an easy kill to roaming fast vehichles, that sweep in, rack kills and fly off. Dealing with these pests might be really tricky in UT3.

As a thought, what could work would be for the shock's power to reduce with distance. So firing at a cicada on the horizon will tickle it and perhaps give 25% of the current dammage, but if you hit a manta that's just about to run you over, it'll still knock it back and take a decent whack of health.

It might be impossible to code without over stressing servers; I've zero technical knowledge. At the moment, shock is way too powerful; but an Avril alone is next to useless.

Just a thought....

That is a good idea...

Comment

like it. but we havent seen the sniper or avril yet so dunno

Comment

The idea seems quite good and testing the distance shouldn't stress the servers.

Comment

Please don't balance my foot soldier weapons for man vs vehicle fights... That would just be ghey.

Comment

his suggestion would have no implications of changing the weapon balance for player vs player fights. damage can be calculated differently for players and vehicles, because they are different types of actors.

Comment

It's a good idea, but the ROF has been reduced to approximate a UT feel (iirc), not eliminated altogether. It's not like they made it a worthless weapon or anything.

Comment

Originally posted by Modulus View Post
                Please don't balance my foot soldier weapons for man vs vehicle fights... That would just be ghey.