Maya or Max?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Maya or Max?

Not too sure if this should be in "general chat" sorry if it needs moving, but I figured all the artists would be in this forum to answer

So, to my question.. Maya Or 3DS Max?

I love feel and work flow of Maya, for modeling at least, But I love the simplicity of 3D Studio Max.

Im not a pro designer by any means but i've done enough tuts in both to get the ideas to do stuff, and to be honest, unless you've been doing it for a long time its very difficult to be independently creative, so hats off to all you fantastic artists who've been making UT stuff for us over the years!

i prefer maya but the actor X plugin seams to have trouble with exporting collision geometry i have to export it as a separate ase than import it as a brush shape and save the brush as an objects collision total pain in the *** don't know/doubt this is a problem with the max plugin

Comment

Great name you got there.

Well from seeing alot of non UT artests theres alot more people useing 3DSMax and that program seems to stick. That way you know there will be enough support easely for your work your trying to do.

Comment

Too much money invloved... yeah I am cheap...

I prefer Blender, but that is because I took the time to learn the alien interface.

Comment

Originally posted by Kazimira View Post
          Great name you got there.

Thanks dude, Back in the day I remember the Real Loque from bot match kickin my butt, I always wanted a scary presence when playing online! I have even practiced some of his trade mark moves, Like the jump up straight from side to side thingie, sad life but it does actually confuse some peeps.. Just gotta keep mixing it up

Comment

Maya Complete 2009 - $1,995.00
            3ds Max 2009 - $3,495.00
            Maya Unlimited 2009 - $4,995.00

Blender - $0.00

*sigh* It looks like I'm learning blender...

Comment