Character questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Character questions

As much as I hate to copy and paste a post that I made somewhere else I'm going to do it. Because now that I looked back and saw how active that forum is... Meh I dunno, I think posting here on Official UT3 forums might bring faster suggestions, if not then more varied suggestions at least. So if this is a pesky move to make, sorry, but here's my post:

I'm an experienced 3D Artist, and I've been modding Doom 3 for quite some time now. I've been wanting to try and get a custom character and some static assets into UE3 for quite some time now, but I've been looking at some tutorials and I'm a little spooked and confused...

Now, I've played UT3, and I understand the system of custom configuration of the characters in UT3. With changeable arms, shoulder pads, legs, etc. But it seems that all the tutorials I've found on the Internet cover only how to export models to UT3 in this fashion. The question is, I do not want to design a character with swappable parts, is this possible? Or do I have to create modular pieces for a character no matter what? I wouldn't imagine this would be the case... But I haven't seen anyone do anything different.

Also, do I have to use the original skeleton that was used for player characters in order to import my own? Would it be possible to create my own rig and export it to UT3 to replace the original player rig? And a question this brings up is rag-dolls. If I create my own rig, I know I'd have to do some kind of custom articulated figure, is this possible, too much work, impossible? I ask this because I use Maya 6.5, and I do not have a copy of 3dsMax so I couldn't get the rig to work in my Maya.

I know that if I export my own rig into UT3 that I have to create my own animations, but this is what I want to do anyway.

I hope these questions aren't frustratingly unoriginal.