Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Moving Lights, Attaching to Movers, etc.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving Lights, Attaching to Movers, etc.

Hey.

I'm just learning Matinee, Kismet, and relating what I know about UT2004 to the new stuff.

I have an elevator which works through Interpolate Pawn Attached triggering a simple movement matinee sequence. The elevator works, but I'm wanting to have a light inside turn on when you step in, and move with the elevator.

I had a Toggle Point light working through a switch, but it stayed on the ground of course. So I tried a Movable Light. I tried simply attaching the light node to the Matinee sequence Mover group input node in Kismet, hoping it would hitch a ride, but no luck.

Is there a way to add more movers/lights to an existing Matinee movement track?

Am I going about this all wrong? I've also tried the attach flags with no luck.

I also know that I'm going to want to attach things to a moving parent in the future.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Set the Physics property of the Light to PHYS_Interpolating.

Comment

Sorry to mention, but I already did that as well. No luck.
      I'm getting a cross-package error when trying to use the Interpolate Actor as the attach in my light properties. I've saved all my packages, rebuilt and saved my level as well. Nothing

Comment

did you try setting the attach property on the movable light to the elevator staticmesh?

Comment

Uh, yeah I tried that. See? /\

"I'm getting a cross-package error when trying to use the Interpolate Actor as the attach in my light properties. I've saved all my packages, rebuilt and saved my level as well. Nothing"

lol

Thanks anyway

Anyone successfully attach a light to a mover?

Comment

There are two lights you can use in the actor class browser. A PointLightMovable and a SpotLightMovable.

You can attach them to your interpactor in the Attachment section of the lights properties.