Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Create a curved wall?

Hi all,

Just wondering if it's (easily!) possible to create a curved wall using BSP, or whether I should just manually put lots of long thin pieces next to each other to make a pseudo-round wall.

cheers
    JJ

Well how curved do you want it? If all you are after is a quarter circle then you can easily cut that from making a hollow cylinder.

There are a few ways to make a curved wall. I suggest you go through many tutorials first and then practice making various shapes. Some shapes take a lot of brain power to figure out how to create.

Comment

yeah, it's just a big quarter circle can you point me in the direction of some of these many tutorials? I'm still very new to this!

Comment

What theme is your map? There's a lot of curved wall static meshes in the LT_Walls package, and you could maybe try applying a different material to them to make them fit in more. The problem with using BSP is that each face is going to stand out with sharp edges where light and shadow meet no matter how many there are, whereas static meshes would look much smoother.

Comment

A curved CSG wall can be created a number of ways. The simplest is usually with a cylinder that has been sliced. Or you can create it with multiple brushes that have been rotated.
          The big issue with creating it in CSG is that you have no smoothing groups, so each "panel" of the wall along the curve will still look like a separate piece. If you use a StaticMesh then the smoothing groups feature allows the curve to be continuous and more natural looking.
          The second issue using CSG is with the texture coordinates. If you create it with a cylinder, you have to spend a lot of time fudging the textures or use a little math to determine what the scale and movement of the textures on each surface are.

Comment

Originally posted by DGUnreal View Post