Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting hands dirty with UEd and also getting frustrated (3 Problems/Questions)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting hands dirty with UEd and also getting frustrated (3 Problems/Questions)

first of all, im really new to UEd though i've been playing UT since '99
    now i plan to make a TC Mod for UT3 (i know it sounds funny). i'm still learning things...

anyways, currently making a CTF map with some "interactive hazard" kind of thing.
    now i ran into 3 problems.
    1. I created the whole red side. edit > select all > alt drag > 180 rotation
      now after a few little edits, i have red and blue base working properly except:
      the "subtractive" brushes (its a subtractive level) of red base are missing "sides" (walls/roofs/floors). the brushes are there. the polygons are there. only the surfaces are missing. rebuilding didnt help.
      the newly created blue base is perfect. if I copy from current red base with missing "sides", i get a perfect copy of red base (with surfaces; with materials). but that one still remains surfaceless. why?

btw, i have just copied the surfaceless brushes, deleted them, put the copied in there.

2. I have a gargoyle at the center of the map, emitting flames and blocking the only** (prob 3) way until a trigger is used.
      the problem is that, I want the flames to to huge damage over time (almost kill) but not insta kill. So i used a Physics Volume (Damage per sec, cause pain, damage type fire) instead of a Kill volume.
      now the problem is that, i can run/jump through that volume 95% of time without getting hurt! it only starts to damage the player if s/he stays in the volume for a second. The volume is pretty small; can be run past in less than a second resulting no damage. how do i fix this?