GoW editor same as UT3 Ed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GoW editor same as UT3 Ed?

I cant use the GoW editor because it crashes all the time. I know why though, seem it needs a lot of memory. 2 gigs is not enough? Its only using about a gig and I cant even move the mouse when it loads up because it will crash.

Am I going to have to add more memory or is UT3 editor a little bit more optimized?

I've been using various builds of the UE3 editor for almost two years on a system with 2GB with no issues at all.

Are you trying to run a bunch of other large apps at the same time, such as PhotoShop, Max/Maya, etc.? Do you have any apps set to reserve a large amount of your free RAM? How large is your virtual/swap file (should be initial = 1.5x physical, max = 2x physical).

Comment

Originally posted by DGUnreal View Post
      I've been using various builds of the UE3 editor for almost two years on a system with 2GB with no issues at all.

Are you trying to run a bunch of other large apps at the same time, such as PhotoShop, Max/Maya, etc.? Do you have any apps set to reserve a large amount of your free RAM? How large is your virtual/swap file (should be initial = 1.5x physical, max = 2x physical).
      Not sure where to check the last part of your post but the most memory intensive program I run (when using the editor) is IE at 30 megs.

Comment

What OS are you using?

For XP go to My Computer, right-click and choose Properties.
        On the Properties dialog, choose the Advanced tab, click on the Performance area Settings button.
        On the Performance Options dialog, choose the Advanced tab, in the Virtual Memory area click on the Change button.

You can choose to have the "System managed size" but that is not always the best route. If that is selected, you can leave it there, or optionally try a manual setting to see if that fixes your crash problems.