Announcement

Collapse

The Infinity Blade Forums Have Moved

We've launched brand new Infinity Blade forums with improved features and revamped layout. We've also included a complete archive of the previous posts. Come check out the new Infinity Blade forums.
See more
See less

CTF-Windswept Alpha

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CTF-Windswept Alpha

Name: CTF_Windswept
    Version: Alpha
    Description: Fast-paced CTF map set in a small desert town with a river running through the middle. Players can use translocators to make their way across the many rooftops and access high sniping points, but are limited to the narrow, branching alleyways when returning with the flag.
    Players: 8-10

PC Download: http://files.filefront.com/CTF+Winds.../fileinfo.html

Screenshot:

Comments:
    This is my first attempt at a CTF map, and I'm far from a veteran of that gametype, so I'd appreciate any feedback I can get on how this is coming along.

As an alpha version it's pretty much pure BSP right now, and the textures are only there to stop it looking utterly dull, so don't take its current looks as any indication of what the finished map will be like. I plan on creating a lot of custom models for the buildings and walls, with the aim of recreating a look and feel similar to the cities in Assassin's Creed, which was my inspiration for the map.

I've already made a start on the modelling, but before I get too far into it I need to finalise the layout as much as possible. I've worked hard on the layout and find the map good fun myself, but there are always things I miss. So how does it play as a CTF map? Is there too much or too little space, enough variation in terrain, etc? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

It plays pretty great so far. I really like the way your map encourages the use of the translocator. The slow field generator is also an interesting twist

I only have two suggestions as of now: