The question about the courtesy in the case of changing others' script

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The question about the courtesy in the case of changing others' script

I made MOD using the script written by others.
    I would like to announce this on a forum.
    I have a question about the courtesy in this case.

I made Mutator using Mr. CaptainSnarf's script.
    http://forums.epicgames.com/threads/627178

I wrote to the Readme file of my Mutator "I made this Mutator from the script written by Mr. CaptainSnarf."
    However, then, I thought that it might be insufficient.

Before I announced this Mutator, I thought that I should obtain use permission of a script from him.
    Therefore, although I sent a private message and E-mail to Mr. CaptainSnarf, there was no reply.

When there is no reply from Mr. CaptainSnarf, can't I announce this Mutator?

Since I am a beginner, I do not know the courtesy or culture about scripting.
    Am I impolite, if I announce Mutator without obtaining his permission?

Now, the reply came from him!
    He permitted use of the script.

This problem was solved.

However, I would like to still know the answer of this question.
    When a reply does not come from the author, is it impolite if I announce the MOD?

Comment

I'm pretty sure that technically by the EULA, we can use any game content (unrealscript code, materials, models, maps, audio, etc. from any of the Unreal games: Unreal, UT99, UT2k3, UT2k4, UT3 (see section 18 C of the EULA), as long as we do not violate copyrights held by others (see section 18 B iii of the EULA).
      http://www.unrealtournament.com/eula/eula_us.php

Copyrighted material is protected under USA and international laws. By getting the permission from the author to use their content is the lawful and community approved method.