Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how to open a .U file to examine contents?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to open a .U file to examine contents?

hey guys

i'm just getting started learning unrealscript and am totally at noob stage. i want to open some of the compiled .U files that came with some custom characters (like Malcolm, Samus, Evangelions) to learn how others coded stuff. how are compiled .U files opened and examined?

thanks
    jag

its pretty much readable, but if you want to extract it cleanly you can just export all scripts, they will be exported, but some packages might have their source stripped.

Comment

If you are wanting to read the .u files of the engine for modding then you are going to want to export the scripts to get the .uc files. (.uc files are the recompiled version of UnrealScript)

To do this you just open the UT3 Editor and it should default by opening up what is called the Generic Browser. If not then go up to View -> Browser Windows -> Generic Browser. Anyhow there are tabs across the top of this window. Click on the Actor Classes tab. Now go to File -> Export All Scripts. This will give the scripts provided by Epic.

If you are wanting to get the .uc files of other peoples .u files then you are wanting to do what is called decompiling the code. Some frown on this but I see it as a way to look at what they have done to learn from it.

You can see how it is done in this video.
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT0RJkPGdTU

Hope this helps, we all have to start somewhere. Good luck.

Comment

I suggest browsing one of the many online UnCodeX hypertext source code documents.

Comment