HELP WITH MUTATORS *modding n00b needs help*

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP WITH MUTATORS *modding n00b needs help*

Ok, so I'm a wannabe designer, and currently an amature modder. I have almost mastered the tools of the UnrealTournament3 ED, and I want to begin with mutators, first of all because:

1: I wanna make a fun Reedeemer only gametype

and

2: I need to learn to make them, so I can get better, and move on to Overhaul Mods

I have tried several tutorials, but I always have to download the UT3 Script file things, thats fine, only problem is I dont have WinRAR or anything like that and they are all RAR files, so I guess I wanna know how important these are, as well as where I can find a good tutorial or help. Thanks

EDIT: Apparently I placed this in the wrong fourm if somone could move it, that would be nice.

whew...

you need the code, everything happens within the code as far as making things appear.

you can down load winrar here this is the latest stable version. It sysa trial, however so does mine and I have been using it for a couple years..

http://www.rarlab.com/rar/wrar371.exe

hmm... tutorials, I don't know where you would want to start from. If you only want to alter the redeemer I would recommend extending it and making your own version of it, It has remote cameras and other variables that make it somewhat complicated otherwise. Extending it is fairly simple to do though. I would say a good place to start would be at pingfreaks website. I see he has a tutorial of extending a sniper rifle and changing some of its default values etc. That is what you want to see is an example, though it may look confusing if you aren't familiar with looking at code it is a great example of how to make a weapon appear. Thr redeemer would be done in a similar fashion.

tutorial: http://www.thegodsofdeath.com/module...iewtopic&t=272

welcome to the wonderful world of oop

Comment

Originally posted by dave neun View Post
      whew...