Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

UPK Package seperate to Map used by mistake - advice needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UPK Package seperate to Map used by mistake - advice needed!

Hi guys,

As you can probably tell from the nature of the problem, I'm very new to UT editing. I've created an entire level with a lot of custom static meshes and textures and did not realise that all of these should be saved within the Map, and not in a seperate package. Possibly the worst mistake I could have made, but that's how it is. Lesson learnt, but the problem remains.

When it comes to publishing and distribution this is a major issue - I was told that renaming files will solve the problem (changing the package name in each object's properties) but not only did this not work, it didn't save any of the transferred objects, materials and textures within the .ut3 map file.

I've exhausted every possibility and almost 20 hours in i'm still getting nowhere - can anyone offer any advice to help a newbie out please? Either how to transfer info in packages to other packages, or how to Publish maps using external packages in UT3 (oh, and i'm using Vista 64 as well) - whatever it takes to get the map working!

Thanks in advance.

-R

You can cook the map with the frontend tool and it will also cook the external package I believe.

The frontend tool is found in the "Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries" folder.

Comment

Ah, I see... I did look at the Frontend tool but i'm not entirely sure what needs to be done in order to successfully cook and publish a map using it.

Are there any tutorials or online help that deal with publishing for PC (Vista) using the Frontend tool? I found one for PS3 but that's not much use as this level is designed to be used only with the PC version of UT3.

-R

Comment

You can still cook the map as is, although you will have a seperate package to distribute in an Environments folder.