PLZ Help - Need to turn off double tap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PLZ Help - Need to turn off double tap

I have been playing first person shooters since Marathon in 1994, so I'd just like to point out I'm not at all new to the genre.

I MUST have double tap to jump turned off. The game is simply too frustrating to play with it on. At first I thought the feature introduced in either unreal 2003 or 2004 was stupid, and "why did the foolish developers make it on by default". I would always turn it off first thing. And now, epic in their infinite wisdom has removed the button to turn it off completely. I dislike it for the same reason I have to turn off double tap to click on laptop trackpads...I get too many false positives (I end up jumping or clicking when I don't want to all the friggin time). I now realize it must just be me (and maybe a silent few out there) because I can't find anyone complaining about this.

The false positives come from how I've been clicking the keys to move in all my years of playing shooters. I unconsciously often will use rapid clicks of the keys (usually only for sidestep moves) to simulate an analogue control which would allow variable speeds. Basically it allows me to sidestep at different speeds. I usually use this when in a position where precise movement is required....for example: at the edge of a precipice. However with double tap enabled, instead of me barely inching up to the edge, BLAM I just jumped off the friggin cliffs of insanity. I also find myself jumping in random directions in the heat of battle when I don't want to. And before you say "just get used to it" believe me, I've tried. This method of movement is so engrained in my being that I cannot stop doing it. As upsetting as it is for me to be playing and jumping all over the freaking place, if I could just stop I would.

So please, anyone with a console command or patch or something to get rid of double tap for good please tell me what I can do.