Noob Setting Up Server - Need Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob Setting Up Server - Need Help!

Hey folks, I'm a total noob to hosting a server and Epic hasn't done me any favors to make this process easier... I could really use some direction and would hope this thread might serve as some help to other noobs in the same position as me...

My Goal: Set up a dedicated internet DM server for myself and 3 other friends to play head to head. I've read thread after thread on this forum and spend a ton of time trying and trying again. I usually enjoy figuring out things like this but I've freakin had it and just want some **** help!

Hardware: By all accounts I've read the machine I'm attempting to host the server with should be just fine so we'll rule that out.

Software: I've got both the UT3 retail package installed and the dedicate server package installed on said machine.

I've patched both directories with Patch v1.1.

I've downloaded the webadmin interface as well. I unpacked the webadmin files into the dedicated directory. Does this need to go into the standard UT3 directory as well?

On the webadmin download site it mentions editing the UTWEB.ini file changing one of the variables, I've seached my HD many times over and can't even locate this file... Is this something I need to create myself?

Command Line: I've used one of the web based .ini generators and attempted to start the server from within a DOS prompt, is this correct or should I be editing some .ini file somewhere? When attempting to run from DOS it simply tells me that "ut3.exe" is not recognized as an internal or external program or batch file."

In the ini generator it requests a number for "Public Connections" and "Private Connections" wtf does this mean?