This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

You must be joking

I am sorry but I am going to have to agree with some of the whiners in here. In no way should it be so hard to get the server working. I have tried here at home, I have had a server company buddy try and I have now ordered a game server through a reputable company and the result is the same. It simply doesn't work out of the box. I literally just got my welcome email from my server company..go off to play around with my new server settings and it's stopped. try to start it and it stays up for a mere 3-4 minutes before crashing dead to a stop.

I have plenty of experience running UT99, 2003, 2004 servers as well as BF2, COD2, COd4 and so on. This UT3 is really down on the bottom of the pile for ease of setup. No readme in the dedicated server package, no information on this missing web admin interface. Nothing. That's going to sting you EPIC/Midway people. Let me throw a statistic out there. I see around 300 UT3 servers total and alot of them are EPIC/Midway hosted servers. By contrast COd4 had nearly 3000 up the first week and now that number is fast approaching 7000.

I come from a 135/35 Low Grav Instagib background and I understand that things will never be the same for my gametype. I was willing to bend. I am fairly disappointed at this point after going through this server nightmare and can only hope things improve and fast. there are alot of great games I could be playing instead of wasting time trying to make the **** server work.

Wish List:

-Detailed Sever Administration readme
    -Web Admin Interface
    -A more robust in interface..the current one is borderline terrible.