Convert string to int - How?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Convert string to int - How?

I need to be able to convert a string variable into an int. e.g. "123" would have the value 123.

But I can't see any way of doing this in the documentation (WOTgreal Help).

Am I missing something???

Thanks for any help

Almost all primitive data types can be casted to each other. It's pretty basic for most languages. No offense It's also on the wiki.

int("123") will cast to an int with the value 123. There's also float(), string(), byte(), class<MyClass>(class'MySuperClass'), char(), Asc(), plus your object casts, heh.

Anyway, I'm sure that helps.

Comment

Thanks for that

I'm actually a professional programmer in C#, Java and C++ so I know about casting The thing is I tried casting, but I just got the syntax wrong Casting is different in the other languages. My excuse and I'm sticking with it

Anyway, thanks again.

Comment

Good deal. Try the wiki for this stuff, most syntax issues are addressed. If youre coming from c++/c# you may need it. http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki

I believe the syntax is similar to java, if I recall. Been a while since I've used java (didnt really find it useful).

Comment

Syntax is a little strange for me at the moment, so I'll definitely go look at the wiki.

UnrealScript is very similar to Java as you say, but casting is the same in Java as it is in C++. To cast a float to an int is (int)variable for example, which is what I tried. But Java is completely different when trying to convert a string to a int. You need to use Integer.parse("123").

Thanks for the help though - I'll go read the wiki now

Comment

casting in UnrealScript is more like casting in Pascal

(and I prefer the Pascal method of casting)

Comment