class inheritence structuring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

class inheritence structuring

I'm fairly new to UnrealScripting. I was wondering if it is wise or even possible to insert a class into the current hierarchy rather then extending what is currently there.

I want to be able to have ALL Actors contain some extra information so to do this it would make sense to take Object->Actor->... and insert MyClass like Object->MyClass->Actor->...

Will this cause huge problems or is this as trivial as it should be in an object oriented world?

ya

Um prety new my self so i cant garinty you anything but i think you can
    but thats all i know i dont realy know how thogh

Comment

no, not possible

Comment

You can only extend classes, not insert!
        But you could take all the code out of Actor and place in your own class, then you would have:

Object->MyClass->WhatEver

But there are vars and natives in the Actor class which prolly won't work in yours. So I would say, no, and why would you?

Comment

Originally posted by Morphias
          So I would say, no, and why would you?
          The reason is simple

Suppose you want all children of Actor to have a new variable MyVariable and a new function MyFunction. It would be backwards as heck to go about implementing this by extending each and every child of Actor with a class containing MyVariable and MyFunction. It would be both an implementation and maintenance nightmare.

But if that's what's gotta be done then that's what will be done!

Comment

I suppose I could always put the contents of the class that I was intending on inserting ( Object->MyClass->Actor->... ) directly into the existing Actor class. That way achieving the desirable inheritance of the variables and functions while avoiding actually "inserting" a class into the hierarchy.