Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modifying the HUD

Hi guys,

Another newbie question, hopefully this one's a bit more straightforward and will get some suggestions

I've made a class called GiftigBombcopter extending ONSAttackCraft (i.e. a raptor) which has a modified alt fire, which now drops nuclear warheads (redeemer projectiles modified to just drop, with the smoke removed, etc.). The class has warheads and max_warheads variables to keep track of number of warheads onboard, and will play the MenuSounds.Denied1 sound instead of dropping a bomb when warheads reaches 0.

This works great. What I would like to do now, however, is to modify the HUD for this vehicle to indicate how many warheads are currently onboard. I've never played around with the HUD before and I'm new to UT editing in general, so any tips are appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

As I’m sure you know, the HUD differs slightly from gametype to gametype. The different HUDs each have their own class, and which class is used for a given gametype is determined by the "HUDType" variable in that gametype’s class. xDeathMatch, for example, uses XInterface.HudCDeathMatch. Since you don’t want to go modifying preexisting code, you’ll want to begin by extending one of the gametype classes (the natural choice here is ONS) and switch that variable to your custom HUD class.

I myself am trying to dissect the code that displays the weapon bar in DeathMatch, and I’ll be taking a look at other elements of the HUD as well. From what I learn I may be able to give you a lot more information, but I’m eager to see what others may post all the same. I too could always a few pointers from the pros, being a bit of a newbie myself.