Adding objects to the map

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding objects to the map

Hi, I'm new to UScript, I have a basic question. I know I add stuff with Spawn() function, my question is: how do I add an object near my starting location at game startup?

I know Spawn() takes starting location as its 4th (I think) argument, but how do I access my current location within the script, is there a variable that represents myself in the script so I could access my x, y values and pass them to the Spawn() function?

And another question, if I want to add a KVehicle object, what argument should I pass to the Spawn() function, is it

Spawn(class'KVehicle',,,starting_loc, rotattion)

?

Thanks.

First you neead an actor, so if you assign your pawn to a variable such as 'other' an object can be spawned at it's location using
    Code:
    other.location
    hope this helps.

Comment

Originally posted by FireCrack
      ...so if you assign your pawn to a variable such as 'other'...
      Yeah, but the problem is, how do I do that, how do I access my Pawn, is there a special variable, or do I have to iterate thru all the Actors to find the Pawn I controll? How do I access the variable for the player-controlled Pawn?

I was going to create a new model in Maya and put it on map, near my pawn, just to test how it all works.

I thought I would create a new class for my new model, based on one of the existing classes, then I must find a way (and a place) to initialize it all, ie to add that model to that map once the game starts. What is the best way to do it, what class should I base my initialization class on? It will then get the coords of my Pawn and spawn the new model (structure/weapon, whatever it will be) on the map.

I have some experience with scripts and AIs, but I'm new to UScript so I don't know how this all works.

Comment

Well there are a couple of ways to go about this.