Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Requesting information from the server

Hi all!
    I'm new to US, and havn't really got full understanding of replication and what I can do and how yet.
    I have a HUD-class that draws some neat stuff, but as of now it only works offline, since I cant figure out a way of requesting certain information from the server.
    I have an RTS-kinda view with mousepointer and such, and in the HUD I want to ask the server where the mousepointer is in board-coordinates (my game being a boardgame) and if certain actions are allowed on that square. Hence I want to ask the GameInfo/GameReplicationInfo/other class(?) some questions such as "can I move to square 1, 5?" returning a boolean to the HUD so I can draw different stuff depending on what the answers are.

That is, in PostRender(Canvas c) in HUD, I want to ask the server a question (not being only a variable on the server, but something calculated on request) and draw stuff depending on the answer I get (or the object(s) returned). Is this doable?

If my question is in anyway unclear, don't hesitate to flame me some so I can express myself better.

/Joel

You are approaching this the wrong way. Replication generally is slow. It may take several ticks to get an answer to something sent to the server. Partially this is caused by the way the level update loop works:
    1. Read received network packets and translate them into actor spawning, property updates and function calls.
    2. Tick all actors (i.e. for each actor: call Tick(), execute state code, update timers and process physics updates)
    3. Render the level
    4. Go back to #1.