Organization freak needs instructions for starting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Organization freak needs instructions for starting

Hey. I'm brand new to UnrealScript and these forums. I'm a crazy organization freak, and everything for setting up code seems unorganized. I want to make sure I'm doing this right:

Install UT2004
    Install UT2004MegaPack
    Install Patch 3369 (I know the MegaPack has it, but for some reason, all the other packs read it as v1)
    Install the source files ( http://unreal.epicgames.com/Files/UT2004Scripts3369.zip )
    Install UDE

And am I all set? The package list in UDE doesn't match up with the Edit Packages and Server Packages. Is this all right?

And if all this is right, do I just start making mutators? If I wanted to make a major mod, how do I do that without messing up my UT2004 install and such?

Originally posted by jbizzler
    I'm a crazy organization freak
    Perhaps coding isn't suited for you

Comment

The package list in UDE doesn't match up with the Edit Packages and Server Packages.
      UDE doesnt read the lists to load the files, UDE reads ur UT2004 directory for UnrealScript files (ie. C:\UT2004\Engine\Classes\*.uc) and u can used these for referance.

I STRONGLY suggest you to not modify any original Packages Unreal came with, you will nolonger beable to play online if you do so, and even crash the game on boot lol

Use your own packages, i would first make a simple mutator, take a look in http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/

Comment

Okay. So I have the originaly UT2004 retail. What patches should I install to stay as clean as possible for coding while still having ECE?

Comment

I suggest UT2004Mi (Map Installer). While not directly related to coding, you'll often need to study other peoples' work to solve your own coding problems. That sometimes means installing things. Using Map Installer helps you clean up afterwards.

Comment

Okay, I'm good on all that now.