TCP Link between game server and AI server

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TCP Link between game server and AI server

Hi everyone, I've been working on an RPG mod for UT2004 for a couple years now but never really had enough energy to force myself to learn the programming necessary to do it all myself.

Well, now I've decided to take it up and get this thing going once and for all. That said the first task is getting the game server to talk to the AI server. I'll be posting my progress and questions in this thread so that others can see how it's done and so those interested in giving suggestions can do so.

I know I'll need to use the TCPLink actor to initiate the connection:

http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/TcpLink

What I don't know is where I'll need to put it. We had previously gotten a basic two way connection going at one point, in which whenever a player stepped on a specific switch it would send a message to a simple listen server I'd written which would then make a request to a database to find out how many times the switch had been stepped on, add one, and send the new number back to the game server which then sent it on to the client as a text message.

What needs to happen is as follows:

Game server starts, makes a connection to the AI server, AI server tells the game server the last known positions of all non player characters and what they were doing, game server spawns them, and AI server takes control. Then communication needs to continue going back and forth as the AI server manipulates the non player characters by sending instructions over the TCPLink and the game server sends info about the surroundings of the NPCs to the AI server.

Oy, but first things first. How do I initiate a connection upon game start and then maintain that connection until the game ends? It does not need to be a constant stream of data, but it does need to keep listening for data, and sending when necessary.