help w/ modeling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help w/ modeling

im a complete noob, so i was wondering if someone is out there that wants to teach me how to use maya/3ds max or any other good modeling program? :-D the tutorials dont seem to help me at all...

learning the basics is pretty simple. try the vtms at 3dbuzz.com

once u have the basics, u should think of something you want to model, and if u run into something u dont know how to do, then post here or do a google search or something for a tutorial

Comment

well i have the basics.. i know how to create polygons and NURBS and such, and i know what i want to model, it doesnt seem too hard for a beginner, its just i dunno how to start or anything. (i'm trying to model Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII btw)

Comment

hmm, that might be a bit tough with the cape and all. look up a cloth tuorial or something for that later.

general thing, when ur trying to model something complex like that that already exists, ALWAYS use a reference image. i prefer to have at least two views, but it can be done with just one. not sure if ull be able to find one, but definatly look.

then, if u do find one, split the views up in paint or photshop or w/e, then put them as a texture on a plane. ill hlep out more if u can find some images

Comment

i already have a front view and a semi-side view

Comment

good. now are they 2 different images or all in one?

also, are u using max or maya?

Comment

2 diff. images, and i can use both. i have both

Comment

good, cause i only know how to do this in max.