Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mappers...do you make your own Static Meshes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mappers...do you make your own Static Meshes?

So do you make your own static meshes mappers?

I don't, never could get into modelling

When i cant find a mesh that looks like what i'm looking for of course i'll make my own. I'd rather spend time making my own mesh then settling something that might end up not looking right.

Besides, there's a great satisfaction in knowing that your map is 100% yours.

Comment

I'm a newbie to modeling so as long as it's not an overly complex model I'll make it myself...textures however...I can't do

Comment

That's half the fun!

Comment

I've never tried static mesh modeling...is it hard?

Comment

Originally posted by UT2K3Freak
            I've never tried static mesh modeling...is it hard?
            It's all right. If you have good imagination you are ready-to-go

Yes, I make my own static meshes.

Comment

Originally posted by Krogen
              It's all right. If you have good imagination you are ready-to-go

Yes, I make my own static meshes.
              Any tutorials?

I always thought learning how to model would be a very long, daunting task....

Comment

Originally posted by UT2K3Freak
                Any tutorials?

I always thought learning how to model would be a very long, daunting task....
                If you have the UT2004 DVD edition you can find a lot of tutorials there (try going to 3dbuzz.com if you don't have the DVD edition). There's about 10 hours of tutorials on the 2nd DVD (ok, I'm just guessing but I'm sure there's more) and I just watched the first 3 or so (about 1 1/2 hours) (there's a lot!) and after that I started working. I'm a person who learns stuff by doing it, and, because of that, I'm pretty sure that there's TONS of stuff that I missed.... Maybe that's why some of my meshes are so messed up?

Comment