Water, Surface area

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water, Surface area

Hi, im quite new to UnrealEd and i have a few questions regarding water.

To make a volume of water look good, must i have a separate surface area? Is it possible to instead add a volume and put the texture directly on the water itself?

The problem arises when i try to make round pillars of water using only quadratic surface areas. I either have to use VERY many, or skip the surface altogether... Any workarounds?

The visible water is usually a fluid surface actor.

Some maps use a lot of these effects, some even to pull off "water walls" check out the DOM-Atlantis map..

A work around off the top of my head might be to create an xProcMesh in the same shape as your water pillar.. . (CTF-BridgeOfFate has examples of these, the team banners that are dotted around)

Comment

Thanks, i'll try the xProcMesh. Although, i have no idea how to use it

Will the effect be the same as with surface areas?

*EDIT* I played around with it, to no avail.... It looks odd and does not move like water at all. I tried finding tutorials on using Xprocmesh but i found none. Could someone perhaps give me a few pointers?

Comment

Maybe i should just give up and make them square-shaped... :/ With enough movement they just might look roundish

Comment

Usually to make a round pools mappers make the edges a little higher, and then use square FuildSurfaces. Then they blend together and you only see a round pool.

Comment

Originally posted by GreatEmerald View Post
            Usually to make a round pools mappers make the edges a little higher, and then use square FuildSurfaces. Then they blend together and you only see a round pool.

Yeah, indeed. But that's not what im trying to make.