Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

simple serious gaming mod needed for research

Hi,

I am a serious games researcher and a noob in the UT2004 modding world.

In my research I want to compare the learning effects of a simple 2D self-made serious game with a commercial 3D game, where the player can fly around and move frictionless.
    For this purpose I need a 3D game which is fun to play, but where no shooting takes place. We are taking this project in schools and they won't allow a shooter like UT2004.

I basically need a level where a player can fly around, using the jetpack Mutator. Since shooting should be turned off some other fun factor is needed. probably this could be finding fuel-tanks for the jetpack.

Now I took a look at Onslaught-Primeval. It seems like
    an elaborate environment, large enough to fly around in.

Could anyone here help me mod this environment into a level where no shooting takes place, fuel tanks are hidden and the ceiling lowered so that the player stays in the forest when flying, rather than hovering over it?

Thanks for your interest in my question,
    Martijn

Disabling weapons can be done through a Mutator easily. You could even use the Instagib code without adding the weapon itself.
    Hidden fuel tanks - those you have to add yourself with UnrealEd.
    Lowered ceiling - again, UnrealEd, this is limited Z that is set in the ZoneInfo or LevelInfo. KillZ setting I believe.
    Jetpack - well, you need to code/get a jetpack, essentially something that makes your physics PHYS_Flying or even a custom vehicle.

Comment

Do you have a link to this jet pack mutator?

Comment

Thanks for your help:

I am afraid I have a few additional questions though.

Hidden fuel tanks - those you have to add yourself with UnrealEd
        can anyone explain how I would do this? I have started UnreadEd but I did not see a way to add fuel tanks ("noob" I am).
        I have dowloaded a jetpack