Extremely Big Deathmatch map

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extremely Big Deathmatch map

wouldn't you like to play in a gigantic deathmatch map?
    lets have ideas and collections

lol, like RedOrchestra size?

Comment

There are several big DM maps available for download from www.unrealclan.com.

There is one unbelivably big map that was ported from UT99 by the clans maper that dwarfs all the others but to get it you will need to play it on the server. If I remember correctly the name is 'FairwellMyFrind' and was made as a memorial for [ARC]Ash. It doesn't get played much because it is concidered way to big even for a server running Zark, Matrix, and an unlimited tranz.

Comment

Well, the sheer scope of a large UT map is well, pretty large. I started playing with an invasion map that pretty much was 1/4 the size a map could be. Oddly, I didn't get as much done as I wanted simply due to the "where was that XYZ" problem which arrizes when editing. Otherwords I just kept loosing my place lol. After 2 towns and 1 tomb, I kind of put the map off to the side.

Perhaps I'll get back to it and add a third "old country" town and finish off the tomb. More like redo the tomb as I think aside from the enterance, the area stunk. Another thing that stunk was the sheer time it took to complete rudimentary pathing between areas and until Angel Mapper had documented ways to speed up maps for both fun and network, I have a bootload of anti-portals and BSPs to add to the map just to optimize it. Can you say 4-6 months before the map is ready for beta lol.

I am thinking I need to finish the 2 existing towns, add 5 more, and finish painting up the terrain to match the "region." As the map is huge, teleporters might be in order just to hop to areas. Hmmm.. might add some optimized "woods" for some good old wood cracking fun.

Anyways, big maps are hard to do **WELL** much less finish.

Comment