This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DOM/CTF/BR-PD-Fortress2k4

Name - DOM/CTF/BR-PD-Fortress2k4 (Perfect Fortress)

Version - Version FINAL 1

Compatibility - UT2004 patched to v3204, and ONS-Icarus required

Description - This map is based on a map found in the Nintendo 64 game Perfect Dark. It's a multiplayer map in PD that's used for every multiplayer mode in the game, and I felt it would be the easiest to make for UT2004.

Comments - Ok, here's my very first finished map for UT2k4 (and pretty much any game) that I'm releasing for people to hopefully enjoy. This map is very simple in its design, yet while testing it with both bots and other people, it seemed a lot of fun in terms of gameplay for all 3 game types. It doesn't have any flashy eyecandy-type details in it, but what's in there works. I'm saving the more flashy stuff for my next map, which I'll start on shortly. (I've been putting off playing to make this map )

This is my first attempt at many things in the map, including the emitters and skybox. Being my first map, I'm sure I made a lot of mistakes, but I think it came out a lot better than I expected. The only thing that ISN'T finished is the real music that will be with the map. For now I have placeholder music from the original game. I will release this music as a sound when my friend finishes it.

Finally, I'd just like to post a couple of the major gameplay differences between the 3 modes:
    • CTF and BR have 1 super weapon in them. DOM does not.
    • DOM has many more indicators as to where one should go for the game objectives.
    • It seems the bots play better in CTF than the other 2 modes, but that could've been my imagination.
    • The jump pads on the center circular catwalk go to different places in the DOM version compared to CTF/BR.

Screenshots - (These screenshots are from the DOM version of the map)
    [shot]http://tecwolf1.home.comcast.net/ut2004/Shot00103.jpg[/shot]