Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[WIP-PreRelease] DM-Favella_Town_[S88] (progress & ideas thread)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[WIP-PreRelease] DM-Favella_Town_[S88] (progress & ideas thread)

EZ all UT players! I've decided to finally make a dedicated thread for an OLD map I've been working on (on and off) for the past 2 years. Originally I wanted to make it into a single player experience, but I've decided for now, to keep things simple, gameplay wise, and release it as a DM map. Theres also the potential for a CTF map, due to the layout of the level (a large two sided town situated on a hill, with a mansion at the bottom, and topmost areas of the map(this was where I would've housed the flags))

As I said, with this map, I've not been working intensively on it, thats why its taking so long, but out of all the maps I've worked on (quite a few, on practically all Unreal engine games), this is one I've felt most seriously about, and I REALLY want to complete it. Everything except the idea of a town, has been made up as I go along, no planning, just spontaneous creation, and I think it adds a certain feel to the map. If you've ever been to the Kasbah in Tangier Morocco (thats where my inspiration came from, an old holiday LOL), you should hopefully get what I mean.

Right now I'd say the map is 60% complete. I only have a few more buildings to make and place, but I think I'm going to be forced to keep the other half of the map empty, due to performance limitations. Still, even with only half the town playable, its a fairly big play area, and the main point of this map, is that every building (except the houses, for now) is explorable, like the Nightclub, the 3 story Hotel, the Brothel, the Pub, all the Shops, the Sewers, the Mansion etc. The map is also about 98% BSP, which is starting to cause problems such as BSP holes, which I dont know how to fix, so I had to cover them up with static meshes!