Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is the Ti4200 AGP 4x better than the FX5200 AGP 8x?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is the Ti4200 AGP 4x better than the FX5200 AGP 8x?

Me wondering. I found a Ti4200 on sale but it's only AGP 4x. I know I'll hear a lot of "get something better", but I'm on an extremely tight budget.

from what I've read (i have no experience on the issue) the old ti4200 is the better card of the 2 :up:

Comment

5200's should hardly even be considered FX class from what i've heard.. you might get better performance with the Ti and 41.72 drivers. the diff between 4x and 8x would be negligable in your situation.

Comment

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=1797&p=6

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...charts-05.html

Definitely get a Ti4200 if we are talking about playing UT2004. The Ti4200 beats even the 5600 in most gaming benchmarks I've seen, especially the UT series. It's just a better card. And there is almost no difference what-so-ever between 4x & 8x AGP, it's all a marketing gimmick. Honest.

Remember kids, newer doesn't always mean better. Not by a long shot.

Comment

Thanks for telling me about the marketing gimmick. I looked for comparisons but couldn't find them. Then I saw this old article where the 5200 was actually included. It's hard to tell for some games. For other games, the ti4200 clearly comes ahead as in this link:
          http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...charts-09.html