Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

UT2003 Linux users: Which distro do you recommend for gaming?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UT2003 Linux users: Which distro do you recommend for gaming?

Please forgive the flimsy veil to prevent me putting “OT:” in front of the subject-title. Also, I have already tried a search for “linux distro” in these forums but nothing recent has shown up, so I figured I’d start a nice new thread.

. . .

I am growing weary of using and working in Windows. It’s not that I don’t like Windows or indeed Microsoft, and it is not that I think I have done everything that can be done with it; but it feels like I have. I need something to rekindle interest in my PC again, and I think that a dual-booting WinXP/Linux setup might help.

So, which Linux distro do you recommend? I tried Mandrake and Caldera a few years back, so my understanding is very limited. However, I am a programmer of almost a decade so I am not afraid to get down and dirty with the command-line if the need arises. Saying that, I really want a no-hassle distro — something easy to setup, use, has a nice window-system (I guess KDE or X or whatever,) good for gaming and developing, and a decent community backing it up.

What say you?

I use Mandrake Linux 9.1 (9.2 to arrive at the end of october) with great results when playing UT2003. It performs as good as on my Windows-Machine.

The Setup was very easy and comfortable, the usability is great.
    Lock and Feel is just as I want it (I had to configure Red Hat 9.0 a little to get it right but Mandrake had the perfect feeling out-of-the-box).

Game installation was quite easy too, though you have to read up on some additional UT2003 installation infos since some problems may arise (for example Mandrake uses "Supermount" which has to disabled first via Mandrake Control Center and the latest nVidia drivers have to be installed which was really easy even if you are a n00b on linux like I was).