Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I want to make custom characters for UT2004, where do I begin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want to make custom characters for UT2004, where do I begin?

Apologies if I managed to put this in the wrong section, didn't know where it'd go.

Anyways, as the title implies, I would like to make custom characters for UT2004, are there any tutorials, tips, tools, and etc. that I should know about considering that its my first time for UT2004 character modeling? (Would really help me if there was step-by-step instructions for conversions like 3DS Max to Unreal 2K4 or XNALara to Unreal 2k4)

My pipeline usually involves these steps using Blender and Noesis, explained as simple as I can:

1. the modeling, the skinning, etc. For Peacock this took roughly 6 hours tops. FROM SCRATCH.

2. The importing of the skeleton. This is really tricky because the PSK/PSA import/export scripts don't seem to be working properly, so instead I convert the PSK to SMD with Noesis and import that using an older version of the SourceTools plugin which retains bone names. The Skaarj skeleton also had to be extracted using Umodel.

3. Rigging it to that skeleton manually. This is a bit time consuming..... sometimes autoweighting won't get things right like putting half the face onto a hairbone making them look melted from the ark.

4. Exporting. Again like step 2 it goes through a Noesis chain - I export an IQM model which Noesis then converts to PSK.

5. I open UnrealEd, import my PSK in the Animation tab to a new package, such as "SkullgirlsPlayers" with the mesh named Peacock