It humbles me to say...I WAS WRONG

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

It humbles me to say...I WAS WRONG

After yet another multi-hour, hand-numbing session of UT2k4, I must admit, I have officially warmed up to the double jump and dodge jump.

I started playing Unreal-series games shortly after Unreal came out, in 1998. In fact I bought my first 3D accelerator card, a 3dfx Banshee because of Unreal. I had played FPS shooters like Wolf3D, Doom 1&2, Duke Nukem 3D, Rise of the Triad, Hexen and Quake 1 but other than Duke3D I hadn't found a game that clicked with me. Unreal came out and the fancy graphics attracted me to the game, but it was the gameplay, including the cutting-edge dodge feature (and alternate fire modes) that added a ton of depth to Unreal.

This dodge feature has been so critically important to the Unreal series, that I just can't even play other games to full satisfaction unless they have dodge. I feel "trapped" playing everything else.

So anyhow, my enjoyment of dodge made me skeptical of things like double jumping and dodge jumping. To me, it seemed silly that someone could jump twice in mid-air, or jump after a dodge. It was more like a perversion of a great feature, than two new features.

I didn't mind wall-dodges, because heck I can do that now (and fall on my butt as a consequence) and that makes sense anyways.

Anyhow, that was one of the largest drawbacks to UT2k3 for me. Maybe because most of the maps really weren't designed to utilize the feature well (they seemed fine for UT), and by the time the bonus packs came out, I had already lost my interest in UT2k3.

Anyhow, the UT2k4 demo comes out, and I can't stop playing it. In fact, the DM gametype is suddenly something I can't stop playing. I spent 14 hours the first day playing the demo, and more than half of that time was just on DM-Rankin.