Voice chat, is it worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Voice chat, is it worth it?

New to UT2004 but saw the option of voice chat. I don't have a mic etc. Got soundblaster card but is it worth it. IE: Do many players use this and is it any good?
    Just need a few technical tips, help, if anyone has some advice would be appreciated.

dont use voice chat. EVER.
    unless you play on cain's ons, turn it off. seriously
    (on cain's, some use tactics via vOIP)

Comment

Lots of people use it, yes.
      However, lots of people are also morons about it.

I think you can live without it.

Comment

@ NiTrOcALyPsE,:up:
        I very rarely use it on a public server because of the above but when I am with clan buddys we use it all the time, when used properly for tactics etc it is great.

Comment

i love voice chat but i am a noob who spams a lot so. . .

for fun, yes. for serious gaming and concentration, no.

Comment

Can't stand it. It does nothing that teamsay doesn't do.

It's just abused by morons who love the sound on their own voice ranting racists comments or singing stupid songs

I switched it off within a week.

Comment

Originally posted by gogobongopop
              Can't stand it. It does nothing that teamsay doesn't do.

It's just abused by morons who love the sound on their own voice ranting racists comments or singing stupid songs

I switched it off within a week.
              Much like what my experience has been with it too. It's basically a PITA to hear a couple of numbskulls going on about ***** in the middle of a game that has nothing to do with the game. :down: :down: :down: I leave it off.

However, in a clan match it might be useful.

Comment

i use it simply cause i can type and talk at the same time so rather than having to stand still i can talk :up: