Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do so many forums put down UDK in favour of Unity ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why do so many forums put down UDK in favour of Unity ?

Hi folks, I have only made a few rooms and used kismet to activate doors ansd enjoyed the simple experience. But sionce I am new to anykind of game editors I also read a lot of whatr unity is about. The main err..complaint is that UDK is not an engine/editor that only one person can male a game,you need at least a small team ?

So maybe thats true...ive read many comments claiming the same thing, but what if like me you only want to make a game for yourself and have no desire to try and make a Gears of War type game with all the flash and complex programming. Wouldnt udk be just fine. I dont think there are are any free or buyable assets for UDK but thats ok.

So what do you think ?

Sincerly , Thumper.

UDK and Unity both have strengths and weaknesses. There are a lot of recent posts about which is better for which application, so search back.... Either engine can be used by just one person to make a solid looking game! Look at the Work in Progress thread for some examples... What kind of game do you want to make exactly?

Comment

UDK can be used to make games with only one person, I'm one of the cases

It all depends on how ambitious your project is. Also the furthest you are from making a shooter, the more work it will be if you use UDK.
      and while there's plenty of learning material for UDK, I understand other engines with more downloadable ready-to-use stuff (Unity, UE4) would probably get you there faster

Comment

About how many years have you been working with UDK and UE3 now Chosker?
        What would you say are your main strengths if you don't mind the question...

Comment

if you want to make a big game in a shortish time you will need a team no matter what engine you use.a full game is a lot of work.