Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

newbie here...how long Epic Games will continue to support UDK ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie here...how long Epic Games will continue to support UDK ?

Hi all,

newbie here.I tried Unreal Engine 4 but is running slow in my current laptop.
    But I will be investing in new rig maybe few months time or end of this year.
    So I downloaded and tried UDK instead.
    One thing I like about UDK is amount of tutorials/examples/resources availables, I was playing with UDK and watch couple of videos.
    I feel I can learn a lot about game asset pipeline via UDK.
    These knowledge can be transferred over to unreal engine 4.

However,
    I'm seriously considering making game in UDK but just worry epic games may announce in a year or two
    may cease update on UDK.
    Also, I'm serious in learning kismet but again for reason above, I'm worried Epic games will pull a plug off from UDK.
    Then I just wasted my time/resources in learning "dead" scripting language.

Is it too dangerous to start on UDK now?

thanks for your feedback

1. What style of game are you looking to make:
    .........College project, Freebie, Commercial FPS / RPG / RTS / MMO / Simulation / Educational etc....?

2. What's the target platform, PC Desktop / iOS phone / Tablet....?

3. How much time will you invest in it, Few months, a year or two, long-term?

-------------------

Epic has already stopped work on UDK except for addressing specific iOS issues. But as there's no activation or expiry, UDK won't necessarily disappear as easily as a specific version of Cryengine or Unity could, because UDK doesn't require pre-registration or license activation or login screening etc... However, I think few would start a project in UDK from scratch today, except for self-study maybe, home experimentation, college projects or work simulation etc, because the future is clearly UE4...