Back to UDK to UE4 or...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back to UDK to UE4 or...?

Hi guys, I'm a 3D artist and it's quite a (long) while that I don't use the UDK\Unreal Engine but I need to come back on it and I was wondering if I should take the UDK back to learn and then "upgrade" to the Unreal Engine 4 or if it's a waste of time and I should directly jump on the UE4.
    I'm asking this also considering the amount of documentation, tutorials out there about the UDK and I don't really know how different the UE4 is, so how "transferable" that UDK knowledge is to the new engine.
    Can you please help me decide?

This topic comes up almost daily. I would post the very same question to people actually using UE4 on the new unreal forums and then update this post for others to follow. Quite a lot of people have moved off these forums since the new release. So is that the answer, or does that mean they were 'ready' to make the jump?

If you need tutorials, and can't learn without them i.e. they are your crutch. Then UDK, may be your best option. But if you're a self-starter and can build demos on your own and teach yourself, then either will work for you... In addition, there hasn't been a lot of hardware benchmarking on these forums between the two engines, but that's probably a significant issue... Also I've heard there are some sub-systems that have not been fully implemented yet in UE4. I'm not qualified to speak about them, but I've been told that Vehicles, Weapons and UI are still a work-in-progress...