Transitioning from UDK to UE4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transitioning from UDK to UE4

Q1: How easy is the transition when it comes to assets ? Is there any kind of converter or do I have to build maps/packages/materials from scratch ?

I'm not asking about code, the transition requirements are pretty obvious there.

Q2: Is there anything like UnCodeX for UE4 ?

Originally posted by davek View Post
    Q1: How easy is the transition when it comes to assets ? Is there any kind of converter or do I have to build maps/packages/materials from scratch ?
    there is no converter so unfortunately you will have to remake all maps/materials ...ect again in UE4, I'm not a coder so I'll let someone else answer Q2

Comment

Thanks smokey!

Comment

There's some misinformation and conflicting info regarding UE4. The packages and map / level file formats won't carry over. But you can still use UDK independent formats such as fbx, textures and sounds.

Comment

Originally posted by frankit View Post
          There seems to be some misinformation and conflicting info regarding UE4. The packages and map / level file formats won't carry over. But you can still use UDK independent formats such as fbx, textures and sounds.
          Someone actually doubted that ?
          It's a bit of a bummer there is no map importer for UE4. Can't imagine porting all my stuff over, this would take weeks, not to mention the inconsistencies between the 2 versions and the temptation to iterate...

Comment

I know, its frustrating. It would have been better for the community to have had advance notice of the launch date rather than UE4 being dumped on us by surprise. It all depends where you were with your UDK projects. I was mostly done with visuals and half-way through with game logic. So life's a b*tch!