Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Volume Ducking! How?

Hey all!

As the title suggest I need to find out how to make certain sounds decrease in volume when a specific sound is played. I know that this can be done through Kismet, but, as I understand it Kismet can only trigger SoundModes through triggerEvents, so this is really good when you need this done on a cinematic sequence. But, on the project that me and my team are working on, this needs to be done in gameplay. There´s an Announcer voice that´s allways giving you, the player, feedback on whats going on so it is imperative that you hear these things through all the music and sfx already playing.

I understand that you can do this effect by scripting, but I'm no real programmer.... yet so it´s nothing I can figure out on myself, and the other programmers in my team have other things to think about.

I believe that this particular effect must be a somewhat standard way to highlight different sounds so it must therefore be several different ways to do this.

My idea was that if you could somehow use a SoundGroup as a trigger in Kismet. So that when a sound from this SoundGroup is played, a SoundMode is triggered and makes the desired effect. But, I don't find any way to do this.

Any response, preferably helping ones, is really appreciated

Oh, I´m not working in Fmod or Wwise or any other Audio middle ware.

Thanks!

/Olabero

I'm not aware of a way to achieve this. I looked around a bit and couldn't get it to work without code or script. Perhaps make the announcer louder? Maybe someone else can chime in with a way to get it!

Comment

How is the announcer triggered throughout the game? I would find out how the announcer triggers, whether by trigger volume or some other event in-game, and link Set Soundmode to those triggers in the map. Then when the announcer is done (probably by timing the dialogue and setting a delay) link to the stop node on the Set Soundmode.

Comment