Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vehicle with windows

Hello together! :-)

I am new with the UDK and i hope you can help me with this little question. I want to import a vehicle that has windows. How can i do this that the UDK shows the windows transparent? Sorry for my english. ;-)

(What i am using: Blender 2.65, UDK 10-2012, Gimp 2)

you would need to apply 2 materials in blender (you might need 2 textures and UV's as well depending on how you do it) and then for the windows in UDK change the material setting to "translucent".

Comment

@ smokey13

Thanks for your answer. My first idea was to take the texture and create in gimp a alpha texture for that i have two different things. I would delete the windows from the texture and in the alpha the windows are contained. It's very confusing. :-)

Edit: I think i am beginnig to understand. I must set Vertex Groups for the parts and in the UDK i can change it to translucent.

Comment

In maya I simply assign a different material to the geometry of the window, import the mesh to UDK, edit the translucency of the material in UDK, bam done.

Comment

Originally posted by SledgeNE View Post
          I must set Vertex Groups for the parts and in the UDK i can change it to translucent.
          vertex groups are used to assign vertices to bones.

Comment

@ smokey13
            I must watch you tutorial with your buggy. It's confusing. :-)

@ Henrik
            I must create a extra material in gimp for windows?

I am very confused because, i understand that a vehicle must be one mesh. With one mesh i can only set one material. That's seems my problem. :-)

Comment

No, you can assign different materials to certain parts of your mesh in blender.
              http://www.abload.de/img/udkblendermaterialjkxqn.png

Gimp does textures, not materials. And yes, you probably want to have a separte texture just for the windows, or at least for their opacity.

Comment

@ mAlkAv!An

Thanks! Now i've got it! :-)