This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unreal Engine 4 - Questions

I recently stumbled across some videos of the Unreal Engine 4 at E3. The engine looks amazing and the development kit appears to be very user friendly. I am an artist/designer working on my first game, I am ok with modeling though the programming side of things is difficult and very new to me, the new UDK would help me out a lot. So I would like some advice in terms of my project plans, here are a couple of questions. I appreciate the new UDK i still under wraps so not much details are floating around.

1. Will the new UDK be compatible with current game files/projects? (i.e. Build a game level in the current UDK and open it up in the new UDK)
    2. How likely is a 2013 release?
    3. Will the licensing model be the same as the current UDK?

Thanks in advance for any advice and thoughts on this, at the moment I have stopped building game levels in the UDK and I am just modeling loads of models that I could put into the new UDK when it is released. I though it is a good idea asking these questions otherwise I could spend years waiting only to find out I cannot afford to use the new UDK.

1. 99% sure that it won't.
    2. Very unlikely. UE4 won't be out before Epic released their first own game with it (Fortnite), and that is as far as I know unlikely to be released in 2013. And ever after it's release will it still take quite a while for UE4 to be released as UDK because they will only try to get the game stable until that point, not the tools.
    3. How could we know that already? It's likely, but nobody can't tell for sure until it's out.

You are not doing yourself any favour by waiting for a specific feature set that is not even sure to be released in the near future, btw.

Comment

Originally posted by owenprescott View Post