Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brand Spankin New!

Hi everybody!
    Names Winter and I'm just getting into 3D modeling and UDK. I've been drilling through the 3D buzz tutorial videos so I've got a VERY basic understanding of what I'm getting myself into. I'm also getting my learn on with 3DS Max, Vue, Quidam, SpeedTree and ZBrush. My question is which of these highly learning curve intensive programs should I start with first(in conjunction with UDK)? I was thinking Quidam for modeling characters, VUE for backdrop images(import the heightmaps to UDK and throw some speedtrees on em if needed) and 3DS Max for everything else(clothes, weapons, levels, animations, etc) but ZBrush looks pretty impressive(not a clue as to how to work it though). Lets just pretend I have ZERO knowledge in anything. From that perspective which of these programs will be most useful with development in UDK?

To figure out what would be best let me just say what I really want to do. I want a side scroll fighting game with a play style similar to Super Smash Bros(Multiplayer Only). Camera work and collision detection are big with this from what I've read but not too many people if any have really successfully done it as far as I can tell. Probably not the wisest of ideas to start off with but its what made me want to use UDK so I gotta go with it.

Any and all input is welcome and appreciated