Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UDK for making a game

Howdy,

I am not a complete newbie to game development, I know a good deal of programming in other languages, and I have been working with the Unity Engine for a long time now. But I am interested in the UDK and how hard it is to make a game in it. I mean, straight out of the box it is pretty much unreal tournament, and is based for making FPS games.

Where would I go to learn how to start creating a game that is not based off of unreal tournament, etc. I don't even know what scripts to edit, etc. Any link to any tutorial would be helpful. I am not looking to create levels, I am looking to learn UnrealScript for game development.

Epic's ditching UnrealScript in their next engine so if I were you I wouldn't even bother. (If I only had known this some weeks ago I would have chosen something else.)

Comment

Take a look at the UDK Gems here for some examples. The key classes are GameInfo, PlayerController, Pawn and Actor (which is UDKs equivalent to Unity's GameObject). Actors use a component model, and the PrimitiveComponent class is the basis for meshes and also physics.

You can ignore the UT based classes if you want to avoid a full-on FPS, though extending the basic classes above will give you a bare-bones 'walking around' FPS.

Comment

Originally posted by Kenchu View Post
        Epic's ditching UnrealScript in their next engine so if I were you I wouldn't even bother. (If I only had known this some weeks ago I would have chosen something else.)
        You can safely ignore that knee-jerk reaction to speculation regarding the forthcoming UE4. Anything you learn now with unreal script will put you in a better position for the future, and the current UE3 model will be with us for sometime yet.

Seriously... some people on this forum need to get more experience in game development and programming in general before opening their mouth and inserting both feet.

Comment