total noob, my first box doesn't seem to be receiving shadows

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

total noob, my first box doesn't seem to be receiving shadows

No need to post a screen grab. I just imported a box, with textures from max. If I place a default brush box infront of it, it doesn't receive shadows. Casts ok though.

Any ideas?

Did you build lighting? If you used a box primitive from Max and didn't adjust the UV's then the UV's aren't correct for lighting.

Comment

If it receives shadows before a light bake while its still a dynamic preview but then messes up after you bake light then it does sound like a lightmap issue.

Comment

Yeah, here are two images. Top is pre light calculations and bottom is post. Any ideas how I fix this? the box is imported from a collapsed mesh with UVs but I can't be too sure if I used reset x-form (if that makes a diff).

Comment

You have to make a second UV set that has unique coordinates for each face. So no overlapping faces. Then lightmass will use those UVs when it bakes the lightmap texture.

Comment

Ok. I'm not sure what you mean though, or what method I use to do that?

Comment

You can either generate a new set of UV's in 3ds Max, on a second UV channel where everything is flattened out and within the 1x1 space and not overlapping. Or you can open it up in UDK and use the Generate Lightmap UV's tool in there which will do it automatically.

After that, change your lightmap resolution, by default it's 32 (32x32) and it's probably too small making the shadows so blurry that you can't see them.

Comment

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/LightMapUnwrapping.html

Comment

Thanks for the tips guys. Seems very complicated. Will read over all that.

Comment