Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Better interface for UDK? Non-overlapping one?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Better interface for UDK? Non-overlapping one?

I recently beginning to learn UDK more extensively. I have some background with Blender and Unity and I'm used with the non-overlapping interfaces this programs have.

Unfortunately UDK have a lot of windows that are popping-up for everything. It's an annoying work-flow to always move the windows to be able to see the main windows. Practically the Content Browser, Actor Classes, etc. is blocking almost the entire view of the main window. An non-overlapping approach it seems to be more practical. Just take a look at Blender non-overlapping approach.

Also will be great to have some "Screens" or "Workspaces" like in Blender and Unity, and the possibility to easily switch between them. You can organize a workspace for the content browser, another one for Kismet, another one for Cascade, etc.

It's a good idea but I wouldn't count on it, most game dev studios use at least 2 monitors per workstation.

Comment

It would already be great if the minimized windows that row up at the bottom of the screen would always be on top of other windows. Then you could at least navigate them easily with single clicks, but this and other tiny comfort features have been requested for ages already…

Comment

Would be nice if the editor had some kind of built in alt+tab functionality.

Comment

Originally posted by Xendance View Post
          Would be nice if the editor had some kind of built in alt+tab functionality.
          I believe it does but I can't remember how to access it at the moment. I'll look it up when I get a chance and report back.

Comment

I know what you mean, I only have one monitor, and its pretty small at 17" so I feel your pain LOL! I dont even have the desk space to use 2 monitors, especially with my sizey speakers.