Little Confused with licencing.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Little Confused with licencing.

I am a new UDK developer, and am developing under a personal use.
    at the moment I am learning, allot, about udk, and have come to a confusion.
    This is my question:

Do I need a developer licence, as in, do i need to pay, to get the UDK source files?

I am making a game that is not a first person shooter, and am very sure that I will need to actually modify how the game engine works.. so, do I need to pay for a licence, and then download the source files somewhere else or can I just wait untill I am really to distrobute the game before I ave to pay anything.

thanks everyone in advance.

UDK doesn't have a license option that allows access to source files. What you would need is a full Unreal Engine 3 license, which costs many thousands of dollars.

Comment

Originally posted by darthviper107 View Post
      UDK doesn't have a license option that allows access to source files. What you would need is a full Unreal Engine 3 license, which costs many thousands of dollars.
      How many thousands of dollars? Nobody seems to post a price whenever this question is asked, instead they change the topic. If you don't know the exact price, can you just replace the numbers with x's? I just want to know a price range because I eventually plan on getting the full unreal engine 3 license for source code, and so I don't have to pay royalty. Is it in the price range of low $xx,xxx or high $xx,xxx?

Comment

The licenses aren't a set price, Epic works with the licensee based on what they need and what they plan to use it for.

Most likely it's $xxx,xxx.xx range

Comment

The licenses aren't a set price, Epic works with the licensee based on what they need and what they plan to use it for.

Most likely it's $xxx,xxx.xx range